Hey All – I ran across an interesting scenario with one of our clients last week that I thought would be useful to share. They were having issues with Office 2007 and SharePoint 2010. For some reason every now and then a highly edited document would revert back to a previous version. After this happened users continued to collaborate on that document until someone noticed that they’re changes weren’t saved from their last edits. After this happened I was brought in to take a look and see if I could find out what was going on here…
Some background – Office 2007 and Office 2010 have 2 different defaults (At least the base installs at this client did) for how to handle the check out of a file.
- Office 2007: Defaults to “Use my local drafts folder”
- Office 2010: Defaults to “The Office Document Cache”
We noticed this specific issue was happening because the users were using the local drafts folder and were not checking the file back in. With Office 2010 you get a nice little pop-up (With Office 2007 you do NOT):
The client went ahead and applied the group policy settings stated here (Thanks Joran!): http://joranmarkx.wordpress.com/2012/01/31/disable-check-out-to-local-drafts-folder/
Now that we have the issue fixed the client wanted a little additional follow-up. They wanted to see what information the “logs” would provide us if this were to happen again. This client had all of the default ULS logging settings turned on. I was able to track down the last time this happened in the ULS logs and I could only see the user accessing the site, not much else. Once I turned on verbose logging I could see the following entry:
“Performing lock of checkout operation for documents/SPTestDoc.docx. Lock Flags = 5. Lock Id – . Lock timeout = 0.
The audit logs and IIS logs can show the user accessing the file, but we do not know if they checked it out, overrode a checkout, etc. I am not advising anyone to turn on verbose logging 24/7..This will most likely fill up your data drive (Hopefully you are putting logs on a secondary/Non-OS drive) and should only be used in troubleshooting. It is definitely good to know that the defaults do not “capture” a checkout and that verbose logging will need to be enabled for the entry above to show in logs.